Plant Talk - Gardening Forums

Unkown Plant

For help in growing and maintaining your favourite plants, from sowing seeds and staking perennials to pruning roses, shrubs and trees, join the discussion.

Unkown Plant

Postby rizwana » Apr 24, 2014 1:22 am

Hello,
We have this plant growing in our backyard. Does anyone know what its called?

rizwana

Re: Unkown Plant

Postby soccermomof3 » Apr 24, 2014 7:50 am

I'm no expert, but that's how my ferns look right now.
soccermomof3

Postby tricone » Apr 24, 2014 10:03 am

Possibly ostrich ferns? The fronds look to be about the right shape

You can eat the fiddleheads when they come up, they're lovely fried in butter. Make sure it's definitely an ostrich fern before you try that though!
tricone

Postby davefrombc » Apr 24, 2014 11:46 am

It is definitely one of the fern species. Some produce edible "fiddleheads" in spring, but others are toxic or carcinogenic; so don't try the fiddleheads until the species has been definitely identified. Keep that picture , and when the new growth comes , get a good photo of it and then ask your nearest University botany department for an id on it .. Most will reply , and many offer forums for gardeners.
Here is the link to the UBC's Botanical Garden forum http://www.botanicalgarden.ubc.ca/forums/
BC Fraser Valley zone 7/8
davefrombc

Postby JosieO » Apr 24, 2014 1:27 pm

davefrombc i'm so jealous that you have z7/8.
I was awe struck to see ferns in the grocery store here in QC. Then walking through the forest and even near my home I found ferns growing like this. Didn't know that they were edible before. I'm glad you said some are poisonous. It put the breaks on me going fern shopping in the woods.
JosieO

Postby davefrombc » Apr 24, 2014 3:16 pm